sealPurdue News

Purdue Theatre boasts three-peat performance

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – For the third time in as many years, Purdue Theatre students will begin the semester by packing a show in a truck and taking it on the road.

The Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival Region III has chosen Purdue's entrant in the competition, "Sueño" by Jose Rivera, to be presented in the festival showcase. "Sueño" will be performed at 9 p.m. Thursday (1/10) in the Centre Theatre, Evansville, Ind. Purdue Theatre productions of "The Gut Girls" and "Candida" were performed in the 2000 and 2001 Region III festival showcases.

Russ Jones, theatre department chair, says he is pleased with the recognition.

"I am thrilled for our students and proud of the success of our program," Jones says. "From our five-state region, only six shows are selected for the regional showcase. To be selected three years in a row is a noteworthy endorsement of the quality of student theatrical productions at Purdue. I could not be more proud of the students, faculty, staff and guest director Dennis Delaney, who collaborated to create our production of "Sueño".

Several actors and designers from Purdue Theatre's three first-semester productions have been selected for individual competitions.

Nominated for the Barbizon Award for Design Excellence are:

Christopher R. Dunham (master's of fine arts candidate, Whitewater, Wis.), scenic designer, "Sueño."

Matt Gowin (first-year graduate student, Michigan City, Ind.), lighting designer, "Sueño."

Kristy Hansen (second-year graduate student, Lovell, Wyo.), costume designer, "Sueño."

Chad Kolbe (first-year graduate student, Marshalltown, Iowa), lighting designer, "The Glass Mendacity."

Stephanie Shaw (second-year graduate student, Pennsville, N.J.), costume designer, "The Glass Mendacity."

Ian Zywica (senior theatre major, Chesterton, Ind.), scenic designer, "The Glass Mendacity."

Nominated for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition are:

Kathryn Bartholomew (senior theatre major, Granger, Ind.), for the role of Mae in "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof."

Joey Basu (senior theatre major, Carmel, Ind.), for the role of Clarin in "Sueño."

Vanessa Buono (first-year graduate student, Baltimore, Md.), for the role of Blanche Kowalski in "The Glass Mendacity."

Jeremy Clark (first-year graduate student, Great Falls, Mont.), for the role of King Basilio in "Sueño."

Brian Edgecomb (first-year graduate student, Bella Glade, Fla.), for the role of Big Daddy in "The Glass Mendacity."

Aaron Ousley (senior theatre major, Warsaw, Ind.), for the role of Brick in "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof."

In addition, Joel Zuidhof (second-year graduate student, Duncan, British Columbia) was nominated for a certificate of merit. Zuidhof composed and designed sound elements for "Sueño."

The Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival Region III competition is hosted by the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville Jan. 9-13.

CONTACT: Lori Sparger, Purdue Theatre marketing director, (765) 494-3084, Production photos from all shows are available.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page