sealPurdue News

April 19, 2002

Purdue School of Education names five distinguished alumni

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue University's School of Education today (Friday, 4/19) honored five alumni for their contributions to their profession and communities with a reception and awards ceremony.

The 2002 Distinguished Education Alumni Awards were presented to Theodore (Ted) Leuenberger of West Lafayette, Ind.; Sara McGrew MacGregor, Fishers, Ind., originally of Fulton, Ind.; Jack Miller of Whitewater, Wis.; Margaretha (Peggy) Motes of Muncie, Ind.; and Roger Norris of Pendleton, Ind.


Theodore (Ted) Leuenberger

Leuenberger, a science teacher and planetarium director at Benton Central Junior-Senior High School in Oxford, Ind., received the Friend of Education Award for "outstanding commitment and innovation as a teacher, and for contributing to the growth and development of science teachers throughout the state and nation."

Leuenberger was a master teacher in residence at Purdue University during the 2000-2001 year and the lead trainer at the Indiana Department of Education during the 1995-1996 year. He earned two bachelor's degrees from Purdue in agriculture and science, both in 1973, and a master's degree in education in 1977.

Sara McGrew MacGregor

MacGregor, special education teacher at Skiles Test Elementary School in the Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township in Indianapolis, received the Young Educator Award "for dedication to children with disabilities, exceptional program design, and outstanding collaborative relationships with families and colleagues."

MacGregor was recognized as a committed advocate for the needs of children and youth with disabilities. She earned her bachelor of arts degree from Purdue in 1998.

Jack Miller

Miller, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Whitewater received the School of Education’s Award of Distinction for "outstanding leadership in higher education and dedication to excellence in teaching, research and service."

Prior to his appointment as chancellor in 1999, Miller served as dean of the College of Education at Florida State University. He also was a professor and administrator at Georgia State University and Wichita State University. Miller served on the board of directors for both private and public non-profit corporations, including Big Brothers and Big Sisters, Victim Assistance Program, and Educational Assessment Systems Inc. He earned his doctorate in education at Purdue in 1975.

Margaretha (Peggy) Motes

Motes, planetarium director for Muncie Community Schools in Muncie, received the Community Achievement Award for her "exceptional creativity, enthusiasm and achievement in building outstanding programs for students and families, and for inspiring others to reach for the stars."

Motes has been a teacher in the Muncie Community Schools since 1980 and became director of the planetarium in 1995. Motes was selected as one of the 20 members of the 2001 USA Today All-American Teacher Team, the first planetarium director to be so named. She earned her bachelor of arts in elementary education from Purdue in 1968.

Roger Norris

Norris, principal of Hamilton Southeastern Junior High School in Fishers, received the Career Achievement Award for "continued commitment and dedication to excellence in education as an outstanding teacher, an inspiring coach and mentor, and an exemplary principal."

Norris began his career in Hamilton Southeastern Schools in 1973. He also currently serves as a curriculum coordinator for the district. In 1998 Norris was named State Administrator of the Year by the Indiana Music Educators' Association and, in 1999, he received a Principal of the Year Award from the Indiana Association of School Principals. Norris earned his bachelor of arts in social sciences at Purdue in 1972.

Writer: Grant Flora, (765) 494-2073,

Source: Jill Lesh, director of alumni relations, (765) 494-0568,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page