sealPurdue News

August 23, 2002

Appointments and promotions; faculty, staff and student honors

Appointments and promotions
– Thomas Carney, professor of aviation technology and associate head of the Department of Aviation Technology at Purdue University, has been named head of the department. Carney, who has taught since 1972, has more than 34 years of experience as a pilot, with more than 9,500 flight hours, and holds the ATP certificate with multi-engine, Beechjet and Mitsubishi Diamond type ratings. He holds the Certified Flight Instructor certificate with airplane single- and multi-engine, and instrument airplane ratings. He currently flies as pilot-in-command and instructor pilot on Purdue's Raytheon Beechjet (400A) and Beechcraft King Air (B200) aircraft. Carney's primary teaching areas in aviation include advanced aviation meteorology, high-performance turbine operations, high-altitude flight and corporate flight department management. Carney earned his bachelor's degree in professional pilot technology with distinction, a master's degree in aviation climatology and a doctoral degree in atmospheric science, all from Purdue. He was the 1996 recipient of the James G. Dwyer Award for outstanding undergraduate teaching in the School of Technology and is a member of the inaugural group of 225 men and women included in the Purdue University Book of Great Teachers.

• Faculty and staff honors
– Jon Teaford, professor of history, received the Mortar Board National Excellence in Advising Award. Teaford is one of seven advisers nationwide selected for the honor in recognition of his service, guidance and support to Purdue's chapter. Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. This is the second consecutive year that one of the Purdue chapter's advisers has earned the award. Pablo Malavenda, associate dean of students, was a recipient in 2001.

– Robert W. Bennett, associate professor of clinical pharmacy, has been selected to receive the 2002 William L. Blockstein Award of Merit from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). The award recognizes achievement in pharmaceutical education. Bennett received the award for his contributions to the AACP, Purdue and the state of Indiana. According to the award citation, Bennett has successfully obtained numerous grants to fund programs and has authored many courses for the continuing education of pharmacists. The award, under the sponsorship of Eli Lilly and Co., consists of an engraved clock and an honorarium of $500.

Student Honors

Harry L. Pearson scholarship winners announced
WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Two incoming freshmen and two juniors at Purdue University are the first four recipients of the Harry L. Pearson Outstanding Leader Scholarship program.

The scholarship program was inaugurated upon the retirement of former Indiana Farm Bureau President Harry L. Pearson on Dec. 31, 2001. To be eligible for these scholarships, students must reside in Indiana; have a program of study in agriculture education, agriculture communications, agriculture economics or animal science; and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

The recipients are:

  • Scott E. Priebe, of Ladoga, a junior majoring in agriculture economics with a minor in political science. He served as Indiana FFA state president in 1999-2000, and was selected as a National FFA Organization officer candidate in 2001. At Southmont High School in Crawfordsville, Priebe served as class president in his sophomore, junior and senior years.

  • Stephanie J. Warner, of South Whitely, a junior majoring in agriculture education. Warner served as Indiana FFA state secretary for 1999-2000 and served as a staff member for the 2002 National FFA Washington Leadership Conference. She was the 2002 Outstanding Sophomore in Agriculture Education and the 2001 Outstanding Freshman in the Indiana Association of Agriculture Educators. She currently serves as the Purdue student body vice president.

  • Mallory L. Tarr, of Franklin, a freshman majoring in agriculture communications. After graduating from Franklin Community High School, Tarr was selected to serve as Indiana FFA state reporter on the 2001-2002 state officer team. She served as a delegate to Hoosier Girls State, was photo editor of her high school paper and was inducted into the National Honor Society.

  • Renee Deatsman, of Leesburg, a freshman majoring in animal science. She is a 2002 graduate of Warsaw High School. She was selected as outstanding agriculture and FFA student for three years. An active member of the Indiana Junior Limousin Association, she served as its treasurer, secretary and president, as well as IJLA queen for two consecutive years. In 2001 she won champion Limousin heifer and supreme Limousin showman awards at the Indiana State Fair.

    Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

    * To the Purdue News and Photos Page