sealPurdue News

November 20, 2002

Ten awarded for progress of economic education in Indiana

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The Indiana Council for Economic Education, an organization within the Department of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University, recently recognized 10 of the state's outstanding economics teachers.

All of this year's award recipients received plaques during a September recognition banquet. The six Olin W. Davis Award winners also received monetary awards of $500 from ICEE director Harlan Day.

The recipients of this year's awards were:

• Dana Smith, president of the Lafayette Chamber of Commerce, Lafayette, Ind., the Paul Samuelson Enterprise Award for Community Leadership.

• Maureen Stafford, principal at Frank H. Hammond Elementary School, Munster, Ind., the Lawrence Senesh School Administrator Award.

• David Fultz, Elkhart Memorial High School, Elkhart, Ind., the statewide Olin W. Davis Award for Exemplary Teaching of Economics.

The regional Olin W. Davis Award recipients were:

• Barbara de Gortari, Craig Middle School, Indianapolis.

• Andrew Dorrel, Culver Academies, Culver, Ind.

• Angela Miller, Akron Elementary, Akron, Ind.

• Karen Miller, Burnett Creek Elementary, West Lafayette, Ind.

• Rebecca Pfaffenberger, IPS School #91, Indianapolis.

Honorable mention:

• Carol Metzger, Clinton Prairie Elementary, Frankfort, Ind.

• Barbara Year, Crooked Creek Elementary, Indianapolis.

Writer: Barney Haney, (765) 494-8402,

Source: Harlan Day, (765) 494-8544,

Ag Communications: (765) 494-2722; Beth Forbes,;

Related news release
Indiana economics educators put the 'fun' in funds

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page