sealPurdue News

November 22, 2002

Purdue trustees approve 3 new professorships

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue University's Board of Trustees today (Friday, 11/22) honored three faculty members and changed an academic department's name.

Jan Allebach has been appointed the Michael J. and Katherine R. Birck Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering. Timothy Baker, a professor of biological sciences, has been honored as the Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences. Michael Murray, a professor of pharmacy, received the designation of the Bucke Professor of Pharmacy Practice.

"These faculty designations acknowledge the leadership and substantial research contributions from three outstanding professors in their academic areas," said Purdue Provost Sally Frost Mason. "Purdue can continue to expect great strides in research from these three individuals."

Jan Allebach

Allebach's research focuses on printing and displaying images, color measurement, scanning and sampling of multidimensional signals, and synthesis of digital diffractive elements. For the past 10 years, he has led a major research program at Purdue that is sponsored by Hewlett-Packard Co. The results of his work can be found in many imaging products that are sold in the marketplace. Allebach, who has been with Purdue since 1983, has been a visiting summer faculty member at IBM Watson Research Center, Sandia National Labs and Hewlett-Packard Labs. He has consulted extensively for industry and government laboratories.

From 1972 to 1975 Allebach was a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellow. He also is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and a Fellow of the Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T). In 1987 he received the senior award from the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He has received two teaching awards at Purdue. Allebach also is currently editor for the Journal of Electronic Imaging.

Before joining Purdue's faculty he was with the electrical engineering department at the University of Delaware from 1976 to 1983. Allebach received his bachelor's degree from the University of Delaware in 1972 and his master's and doctorate in electrical engineering from Princeton University in 1975 and 1976.

Timothy Baker

Baker is known for pioneering the development of electron cryomicroscopy and its application to the study of the three-dimensional structures of viruses. Working with scientists from Purdue and worldwide, Baker has produced and interpreted about 100 three-dimensional images of viruses, including viruses complexed with antibodies and cellular viral receptors.

He has published more than 90 peer reviewed papers and another 50 papers in books and proceedings. His honors and awards include being elected to Phi Lambda Upsilon National Honorary Chemical Society and Duke University Mathematics Honorary Society. In 1996 Baker received the Herbert Newby McCoy Award for Scientific Achievement at Purdue. He also is on the editorial board for Journal of Structural Biology.

Baker joined the Purdue faculty in 1983. He earned his candidate in philosophy and doctorate degrees in biochemistry at the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1974 and 1976, respectively. In 1971 he received his bachelor's degree in chemistry from Duke University.

Michael Murray

Murray is a member of the Purdue Department of Pharmacy Practice, an adjunct professor of medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine and a scientist at Regenstrief Institute in Indianapolis, where he directs the health data and epidemiology section.

In 1996 he received the Award for Excellence in Health Science Research from the Indiana Public Health Foundation, and in 1999 he was named a Purdue Faculty Scholar. Murray is a member of the U.S. Pharmacopeia's expert panels on safe medication use and therapeutic decision making. He is a board member of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics and is a former board member of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology.

His research involves developing pharmacy services to improve drug therapy in older adults with chronic disorders, pharmacy services research, health care utilization by low-income minority people and pharmacoepidemiology using large population computer databases.

He completed his residency at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia in 1977 and a fellowship in pharmacoepidemiology at Regenstrief Institute in 1988. He earned his bachelor's degree in pharmacy and doctorate in clinical pharmacy at Duquesne University, Pittsburgh.

The new appointments bring the number of distinguished professorships to 52 and named professors to 28. In addition to the honorary title, these professors generally receive additional financial support to help them expand their efforts at Purdue.

The Bircks, who fund Allebach's professorship, live in Hinsdale, Ill. Michael Birck, a 1960 alumus, is a member of the university's board of trustees. The Bircks also are lead donors for the Birck Nanotechnology Center in Purdue's new Discovery Park with their $30 million gift. The Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex is named for the Bircks in recognition of their $3 million donation that helped support major improvements on the two 18-hole courses and practice area.

The Bucke professorship is named in honor of William S. Bucke, founder of the local company Lafayette Pharmacal Inc. Bucke and his wife, Edith, both deceased, were longtime friends of the School of Pharmacy. One of their larger gifts furnished the outpatient pharmacy in the Heine Pharmacy Building.

The trustees today also approved the Department of Electrical Engineering Technology's request to change its name to the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology.

"This name change is consistent with a national trend and practice," Mason said. "Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology also is consistent with other Purdue campuses, notably Indiana-Purdue Fort Wayne and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis."


Writer: Amy Patterson-Neubert, (765) 494-9723,

Sources: Sally Frost Mason, (765) 494-9709,

Jan Allebach, (765) 494-3535,

Timothy Baker, (765) 494-5645,

Michael Murray, (317) 630-7760,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page