sealPurdue News

December 30, 2002

Purdue theatre student work recognized

WEST LAFAYETTE – More than 30 Purdue University theatre students depart for Evansville, Ind., on Monday (1/6) to compete in the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival Region III.

KCACTF is a national theater education program that identifies and promotes quality in college-level theater production. Last year more than 1,200 productions were entered in the competition, which involves more than 20,000 students nationwide.

Theatre department chair Russ Jones says he is pleased Purdue will be so well represented.

"Once again, I am proud that the talents of our students are being recognized and that they have the opportunity to meet with their peers from collegiate theater programs in our region," Jones said. "These students are dedicated to developing their craft, and KCACTF provides an excellent environment in which they can receive outside feedback on their work."

Nominated for the Barbizon Award for Design Excellence are:

Kristy Hansen (master's of fine arts candidate, Lovell, Wyo.), costume designer, "Art."

Matt Gowin (second-year graduate student, Michigan City, Ind.), lighting designer, "Our Town" and "Little Shop of Horrors."

David Swenson (second-year graduate student, Salt Lake City, Utah), sound designer, "Little Shop of Horrors."

Jodi Jana Hart (master's of fine arts candidate, Madison, Wisc.), costume designer, "Little Shop of Horrors."

Katie Miles (sophomore theatre major, Fort Wayne, Ind.), costume designer, "The Diviners."

Michael Dwan (sophomore theatre major, Crown Point, Ind.), lighting designer, "The Diviners."

Justin Seward (first-year graduate student, Cumberland, Md.), scenic designer, "The Diviners."

Ben Lawson (senior theatre major, Columbus, Ind.) and Mark Jamerson (senior theatre major, Indianapolis), sound co-designers, "The Diviners."

Dallas Rainey (first-year graduate student, San Antonio, Texas), lighting designer, "Big Love."

Ian Zywica (senior theatre major, Chesterton, Ind.), scenic designer, "Big Love."

Evan Middlesworth (senior theatre major, Richmond, Ind.), sound designer, "Big Love."

Nominated for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition are:

Vanessa Buono (second-year graduate student, Baltimore, Md.), for the role of Emily Webb in "Our Town."

Megan Mary Ryan (second-year graduate student, Madison, Wisc.), for the role of the Stage Manager in "Our Town."

Justin Karr (junior theatre major, Columbus, Ind.), for the role of George Gibbs in "Our Town."

Jeremy Clark (second-year graduate student, Great Falls, Mont.), for the role of Orin in "Little Shop of Horrors."

Matt Beran (junior theatre major, Naperville, Ill.), for the role of Seymour in "Little Shop of Horrors."

Elizabeth Byanski (junior theatre major, Bluffton Ind.), for the role of Audrey in "Little Shop of Horrors."

Jeremy Fisher (senior theatre major, Mishawaka, Ind.), for the role of Buddy Layman in "The Diviners."

Suzanne Miller (sophomore theatre major, Logansport, Ind.), for the role of Jennie Mae Layman in "The Diviners."

Carla Harris (second-year graduate student, Longview, Texas), for the role of Olympia in "Big Love."

Anita Ross (second-year graduate student, Howe, Ind.) for the role of Bella/Eleanor in "Big Love."

Erin E. Reitz (second-year graduate student, Lincoln, Neb.) for the role of Thyona in "Big Love."

In addition, LaRonika Thomas (master's candidate, West Lafayette, Ind.) was nominated for the National Critics Institute and as a student director for a10-minute play festival.

The Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival Region III competition will take place at the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville Jan. 7-12.

Writer: Marydell Forbes, (765) 496-7704,

Source: Lori Sparger, Purdue Theatre marketing director, (765) 494-3084;

NOTE TO JOURNALISTS: Production photos from all shows are available. Contact Lori Sparger at (765) 494-3084 for more information.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page