sealPurdue News
____

April 1, 2003

Financial security at the heart of Purdue Extension workshop

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Purdue University Cooperative Extension will host a conference on financial security and how to achieve it.

The Financial Security in Later Life Conference can be viewed at 11 sites across Indiana from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST on April 23. Registration is $35 and is due by April 11.

"Most people worry about being financially secure, but a lot of people are unsure of how to do so," said Janet Bechman, Extension specialist in family resource management. "This conference will help people better prepare for later life."

Participants will get an introduction to retirement planning programs and resources available to all Indiana citizens. State and national speakers also will give presentations that will be viewed at each location.

A live teleconference will be at each site from 10:30 a.m. to noon, with presentations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Jane Schuchardt, national program leader for Cooperative State Research, Education, Extension Service, and Indiana state treasurer Tim Berry.

Schuchardt will present "Positioning for Success." Part of her message will deal with preparing for the future while keeping pace with today's obligations.

Berry will present "Are you Motivated to be Financially Secure?" He will discuss the wise use of credit, an emphasis on saving, planning for life's unexpected events and planning for retirement. Participants will not only learn how to be financially sound in later life but also how to be secure throughout all of life.

At each site, local experts will make presentations in the afternoon. The topics to be discussed include conversations between generations – adult children and aging parents – retirement planning and the best road to travel to reach financial security.

The conference is open to the general public and professionals that work with families.

Site locations and contacts are:

  • Marion County, 6640 Intech Blvd., Suite 120, Indianapolis. CONTACT: Rebecca Haynes-Bordas, (317) 275-9305 Ext. 254, haynesar@purdue.edu.

  • Allen County, 4001 Crescent Ave., Fort Wayne. CONTACT: Vickie Hadley, (260) 481-6826, hadleyv@purdue.edu.

  • Ivy Tech State College, Terre Haute. CONTACT: Carol Turner, (812) 462-3371, cturner@purdue.edu.

  • Ivy Tech State College, Muncie. CONTACT: Cathy Burkett, (765) 932-5674, cburkett@purdue.edu.

  • Tippecanoe County Extension office, Lafayette. CONTACTS: Denise Schroeder, (765) 984-5115, schroedd@purdue.edu; Jean Akers, (765) 762-3231, akersj@purdue.edu.

  • Bartholomew County Extension office, 1971 State St., Columbus. CONTACTS: Norma Butler, (812) 379-1665, nbutler@purdue.edu; Barb Bowman, (812) 988-5495, bbowman@purdue.edu.

  • Orange County Extension office, 205 E. Main St., Paoli. CONTACTS: Mary Jo Robinson, (812) 723-7107, mrobinson@purdue.edu; Sharon Broughton, (812) 338-2352, sbrought@purdue.edu.

  • Clark County Extension office, 9608 Highway 62, Charlestown. CONTACTS: Reba Colley, (812) 256-4591, rcolley@purdue.edu; Daphne Heiny, (812) 948-5470, heiny@purdue.edu.

  • Lawrenceburg Public Library. CONTACT: Dottie Keeton, (812) 265-8919, dkeeton@purdue.edu.

  • Vanderburgh County 4-H Center Banquet Hall, 201 E. Boonville-New Harmony Road, Evansville. CONTACTS: Jan Wahl, (812) 254-8668, jwahl@purdue.edu; Susan Plassmeier, (812) 435-5287, splassme@purdue.edu.

  • Elkhart County 4-H Fairgrounds, Goshen. CONTACT: Mary Ann Lienhart-Cross, (574) 533-0554, lienhart@purdue.edu.

    The registration fee includes conference materials and lunch. For more information or to register, call 1-888-EXT-INFO or your county Purdue Extension office.

    Writer: Michelle Betz, (765) 494-8402, agnews-stories@purdue.edu

    Source: Janet Bechman, (765) 494-8309, jcb@purdue.edu

    Related Web site:
    Purdue Extension

    Ag Communications: (765) 494-2722; Beth Forbes, bforbes@aes.purdue.edu; http://www.agriculture.purdue.edu/AgComm/public/agnews/


    * To the Purdue News and Photos Page