sealPurdue News

Purdue students from West Lafayette win scholarships

Two Purdue students originally from West Lafayette have been selected to receive Goldwater scholarships for 2003, and a third has received an honorable mention.

The recipients are Damir Dzhafarov, who is majoring in mathematics, and Anke Mulder, majoring in biology and chemistry. Honorable mention went to Joseph Francis, who is majoring in chemistry and chemical engineering.

Only 300 students nationwide receive the merit-based scholarships, which last for one or two years and cover expenses of up to $7,500 per year. Recent Goldwater Scholars have gone on to receive Rhodes Scholarships and Marshall Awards for postgraduate study.

CONTACT: Gerald J. Smith, president of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, (703) 756-6012,