seal  Purdue News

June 13, 2003

Appointments, promotions; faculty and staff honors

Appointments and promotions

– Julie Cowan Novak has been named head of the Purdue University School of Nursing and associate dean of the Schools of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Heath Sciences, effective June 1. Novak came to the Purdue School of Nursing in 2000 as professor of nursing, director of practice and community collaboration, and chair of family and community health nursing. She was promoted to associate head of Graduates Studies, Practice and Community Collaboration in July 2001. Novak came to Purdue from the University of Virginia School of Nursing, where she was the Theresa A. Thomas Endowed Professor of Primary Care.

NOTE TO JOURNALISTS: A publication-quality photograph of Julie Cowan Novak is available at


Faculty and staff honors

– John M. Connor, professor of agricultural economics, will receive the 2003 Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund Writing Award for his book "Global Price Fixing: Our Customers Are the Enemy" (Boston, Mass.: Kluwer Academic Publishers). The award honors publications concerned with principles of economic justice and/or federal statutes created to protect society from anticompetitive activity. The award, given by the trustees of the Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Charitable Trust, will be presented at the annual meeting of the American Antitrust Institute on June 24 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The Cohen Award is given in memory of the founding partner of the Washington, D.C., law firm of Cohen, Milstein, Hausfeld & Toll. The award includes a cash prize of at least $8,000. Connor will donate this prize to the Purdue Department of Agricultural Economics and to fund a graduate research fellowship at the University of Wisconsin named for Professor Willard F. Mueller, to whom the book is dedicated.

– The Office of the Dean of Students recently honored advisers of student organizations. Erik Props, who advises the School of Management Council and is employed as director of undergraduate programs in the School of Management, received the 2003 Outstanding Adviser of the Year Award. Props serves as coordinator of computer services for the undergraduate program through which he develops and maintains databases used in the management advising office of the Career Services Center. Props also serves as the School of Management representative to the Student Decision Support System, which provides statistical data and analysis using historical student records. Other nominees recognized include Lucia Anderson, who advises Maclure Cooperative; David Bowker, who advises the Purdue Student Engineering Foundation; Regina Galer-Unti, who advises the Eta Sigma Gamma Pharmacy Honorary; Beth Holloway, who advises the Society of Women Engineers; and Tamara Rice, who advises the Purdue Cooperative Council.

– Women in Engineering director Beth Holloway served as co-chair of the Women in Engineering Programs & Advocates Network National Conference, which took place June 8-11 in Chicago. The conference focused on identifying strategies for increasing the percentage of women in the engineering work force and academic institutions.

– Strategic Management Journal, whose editor-in-chief is Dan E. Schendel, professor of management in the Krannert School, has received two Golden Page awards from the United Kingdom-based Emerald Management Reviews. One Golden Page Award was for originality, and the other was for research implications. The awards were announced on April 24 in London. Schendel has been editor-in-chief of the Strategic Management Journal since its inception in 1978. He holds the Blake Family Endowed Chair in Strategic Management at the Krannert School and also is dean of the German International School of Management and Administration (GISMA) in Hanover, Germany. GISMA provides MBA education to an international student body in partnership with a foundation supported by the state of Lower Saxony.

– Kwei Tang, professor of quantitative methods in the Krannert School of Management, is the 2003 winner of the Salgo Noren Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award carries a $4,000 prize. The award cites Tang's outstanding teaching in the master's program during the 2002-03 academic year. Runners-up were Diane Denis, associate professor of finance, and John Umbeck, professor of economics. They each won $3,000. Winners are chosen by current master's degree students. The award, the Krannert School's top teaching award, has been given annually since 1968.

– Gabriele Camera, assistant professor of economics, and Vinayak Deshpande, assistant professor of operations management, have won the 2003 John and Mary Willis Young Faculty Scholars Award in the Krannert School of Management. Each receives a total prize of $10,000 – $5,000 cash and $5,000 in research expenses.

– Mohit Tawarmalani, assistant professor of quantitative methods, has won the 2003 Jay Ross Young Faculty Scholar Award in the Krannert School of Management. He receives a total prize of $10,000 – $5,000 cash and $5,000 in research expenses.

– Pamala Morris, associate professor of 4-H youth, was selected to serve as a Faculty Fellow in 2003-04 for the Indiana Campus Compact. She will receive a $5,000 grant to advance the theory and practice of service-learning on the Purdue campus. The Indiana Campus Compact promotes colleges and universities as active and involved members of their communities, to help educate students' as good citizens and prepare tomorrows leaders.

– Eckhard Groll, an associate professor of mechanical engineering, will receive a Distinguished Service Award on June 28 from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers Inc. The award is granted to people who have served "with distinction on committees and have freely given their time and talent on behalf of the society," according to a statement from the society.

– Mara Wasburn, an assistant professor of organizational leadership and supervision, and Susan Miller, an assistant professor of computer graphics technology, have been nominated for a 2003 Mira Award in education. The award recognizes Indiana educators and educational programs that demonstrate excellence in technology to further learning. The professors were nominated based upon work with Women in Technology, a student organization that develops female leaders in the School of Technology through networking, support, mentoring and outreach.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page