seal  Purdue News

August 11, 2003

Top winemakers honored at Indy Wine Competition

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Indiana vintners rose to the top of world-class winemaking, winning more than 178 medals at the Indy International Wine Competition on July 24-26.

"The Indiana wineries are bringing home a large number of medals for a state of our size, indicating that Indiana wines are of very high quality," said Sally Linton, marketing and public relations specialist for the Indiana Wine Grape Council at Purdue University.

In this year's competition there were 3,291 entries from 15 countries. There were 269 Indiana wines entered in the competition, up 41 entries from last year. The 2003 event was the third largest wine competition in the United States and the largest in the nation outside of California.

Commercial trophies and winners included:

• Governor's Cup for the top Indiana winery went to Huber Orchard Winery of Borden, Ind.

• American Airlines' "Best of Show" grand champion wine went to Valdivieso for its 2000 Cabernet Franc Single Vineyard Reserve from Santiago, Chile.

• American Airlines' Red Wine Champion was the Rodney Strong 1999 Alden Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon from Healdsburg, Calif.

• American Airlines' White Wine Champion went to St. Supery's 2002 Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc from Rutherford, Calif.

• American Airlines' Sparkling Wine Champion went to a 1996 Pommery Grand Cru from Reims, France.

• American Airlines' Dessert Wine Champion went to Blandy from Portugal for a 5-year-old Malmsey. A dessert wine generally tastes much sweeter and contains a higher alcohol content.

• Leisure Family Pacesetter Trophy for the winery with the most number of medals went to Galena Cellars Inc. from Galena, Ill.

• Indiana Beekeepers' Association Mead Champion was the Rocky Mountain Meadery from Palisade, Colo., with a Guinevere honey, mead wine.

Amateur trophies and winners included:

• Lallmand Trophy for the national wine champion went to Raymond Meyer from Shepherdsville, Ky., with a 2002 Sauvignon Blanc.

• Indiana Winegrowers Guild's Indiana Wine Champion went to Bill Corey from Greenwood, Ind., for his 2002 Tempranillo/Cabernet Sauvignon.

• Fruit Winemaking Quarterly Magazine's Fruit Wine Champion went to Fred W. Chadwell of Greenwood, Ind.

• Indiana Beekeepers' Association Mead Champion went to Brent Russell from West Lafayette, Ind., for a honey mead wine.

• The 'Pit Cru' Award for Amateur Wine Label Champion went to Chuck Craw from West Lafayette, Ind.

The Indy International Wine Competition is sponsored by the Indiana State Fair and coordinated by the Indiana Wine Grape Council.

For more information about the competition winners, contact Linton at (765) 496-3842,

Writer: Meggie Issler, (765) 494-8402,

Source: Sally Linton, (765) 496-3842,

Ag Communications: (765) 494-2722; Beth Forbes,;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page