seal  Purdue News

November 13, 2003

Students honored at 2003 Emily Mauzy Vogel conference

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Nine Purdue University students received awards at the 13th annual Emily Mauzy Vogel Sophomore Leadership Development Conference held recently at Camp Tecumseh in Brookston, Ind.

Four attendees receiving the Emerging Leaders Award were: Chelsea Steele (engineering, South Bend, Ind.), Megan Keffaber (management, North Manchester, Ind.), Ashley Koehn (liberal arts, Fon du Lac, Wis.), and Ryan Thieme (management, Monroeville, Ind.).

Students who attended the 2002 conference were eligible for this year's Betty Nelson Skilled Leader Award this year. Jonathan Hoggatt (pharmacy, West Lafayette, Ind.) received the 2003 Betty Nelson Skilled Leader Award. The four finalists were: Kira Ann Larimore (pharmacy, Camden, Ind.); David Mullaly (engineering, New Johnsonville, Tenn.); A.J. Pheasant (agriculture, West Lafayette, Ind.); and Kristine Rasmussen (science, Crown Point, Ind.).

The two-day conference, sponsored by the Student Activities and Organizations area of the Office of the Dean of Students, is funded by an endowment from Purdue alumni Robert (1906-2000) and Ruth (1907-1997) Mauzy and is named for their daughter, Emily Mauzy Vogel (1930-2000).

Writer: Reni Winter, 765-496-3133,

Source: Bridget Williams Golden, 765.494.1232,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page