seal  Purdue Notebook

May 28, 2004

Appointments and Promotions

Stephanie Mannon has been appointed director of development for the Purdue Cancer Center. Mannon was formerly executive director of the Indianapolis affiliate of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation and, prior to that, was special assistant to Indiana Secretary of State Sue Anne Gilroy.

Campus activities

On Thursday (June 3) in the Class of '50 Lecture Hall, Purdue's chemistry department will sponsor a special symposium honoring C.N.R. Rao, Linus Pauling Research Professor CSIR Centre of Excellence in Chemistry, and Chemistry and Physics of Materials Unit Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India. Rao is a fellow/member of all the major science academies of the world. He received his doctorate from Purdue in 1958 and an honorary degree from Purdue in 1982. Additional information on this symposium is available or by contacting Jurgen Honig at (765) 494-5279,

Faculty and staff honors

Ray Kavanaugh, professor and head of the Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management, has been appointed by Gov. Joseph E. Kernan as a member of the Indiana Tourism Council. Kavanaugh's appointment begins immediately, and he will serve the remainder of a two-year term that will expire July 1, 2005. There are 11 private-sector members of the council, which is part of the Indiana Department of Commerce.

Garth J. Simpson, assistant professor of chemistry, has been named a 2004 Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation. Of the 96 scientists from U.S. and Canadian universities who applied, only 11 received the $75,000 awards, which honor individuals who show promise in both research and teaching. Simpson's work involves lasers and optical probes of the structure and function of biological systems. Other 2004 awardees work in the fields of chemistry, physics and astronomy. Simpson also has been selected as a Beckman Young Investigator by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. The awards of approximately $240,000 are intended to provide research support to the most promising young faculty members in the early stages of academic careers in the chemical and life sciences. Simpson's award is for his project, entitled "Non-linear optical platforms for biosensing."

– Economic Theory, an academic journal based at Purdue University's Krannert School of Management, was ranked 13th internationally among the top 37 academic economics journals in a study in the May issue of Econometrica. The editor-in-chief of Economic Theory is Charalambos D. "Roko" Aliprantis, distinguished professor of economics and professor of mathematics. The study determined the rankings of the journals by using economic methodology, which it described as similar to how Google ranks Web sites, to evaluate citations of economists' research in academic economics journals.

– Hall of Music Productions recently received five awards in the 25th Annual Telly Awards. The Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs, as well as video and film production. The competition drew more than 10,000 entries this year. Hall of Music Productions previously won six awards from the Association of Advertising and Marketing Professionals which honors excellence in advertising.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

* To the Purdue News and Photos Page