Purdue News

Purdue Notebook

August 27, 2004

Faculty and staff honors

– Arnold C. Cooper, Louis A. Weil Jr. Professor of Management at the Krannert School of Management, has had a best paper award named in his honor. The entrepreneurship division of the Academy of Management this year has initiated the practice of naming the award for a senior scholar. Cooper is the first to receive the honor. Cooper, who received his bachelor's and master's degrees from Purdue and his doctorate from Harvard, has taught and done research in strategic management and entrepreneurship at Purdue since 1963.

– Raphael R. "Ray" Kavanaugh, professor and head of the Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management, is this year's recipient of the Howard B. Meek Award, which is the highest individual recognition a member of the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education can receive. The award is presented annually to a member in recognition of lifetime contributions and outstanding service to hospitality education. Kavanaugh is the author of more than 80 publications in academic journals, and he co-authored the textbook "Supervision in the Hospitality Industry." Internationally, Kavanaugh has worked with Poland, Belize, and Asian countries to implement educational programs. He served five years as director of human resources with Red Lobster Restaurants Inc., and later as vice president of product development with the Educational Institute of the American Hotel and Lodging Association. The Howard B. Meek Award is named for the late Howard B. Meek, a pioneer in American hospitality education, who served as the first dean of the School of Hotel Administration at Cornell University.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096; purduenews@purdue.edu


To the News Service home page

Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive