Purdue News

Purdue Notebook

September 8, 2006

Faculty and staff honors

— Ray Kavanaugh, professor and head of the Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management in the School of Consumer and Family Sciences, received the Champion of Education Award in July at the annual conference of the International Council of Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education (I-CHRIE) in Crystal City, Va. The award is given by the I-CHRIE board of directors to honor a corporation or individual who has made a longstanding commitment to special initiatives that advance the I-CHRIE mission. In 2004, Kavanaugh received the Howard B. Meek Award from I-CHRIE. The Meek Award is the highest individual recognition an I-CHRIE member can receive. It honors lifetime contribution and outstanding service to hospitality education.

— Song No, an assistant professor of Spanish in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures, received an Academic Recognition Award from the National University of San Marcos in Lima, Peru. The award recognizes his work about the 20th-century Chinese Peruvian philosopher Pedro Zulen. No is an expert in Latin American colonial literature.

— Kevin B. Anderson, associate professor of political science, and Janet Afary, associate professor of history and women's studies, received the Latifeh Yarshater Book Award for "Foucault and the Iranian Revolution" (University of Chicago Press, 2005). The award is given by the Persian Heritage Foundation to honor the memory of Yarshater and her lifelong dedication to the improvement of Iranian women's human rights. Anderson and Afary's book is the first major study of the philosopher Foucault in relation to the Islamic revolution and women's human rights in Iran. The award was presented in August at the International Association of Iranian Studies meeting in London.

— Susan Curtis, professor of history and director of the College of Liberal Arts' Office of Interdisciplinary Studies, has been named associate dean for Interdisciplinary Programs and Engagement. Curtis will continue to support the college's 13 interdisciplinary programs, administer periodic program reviews and explore new interdisciplinary initiatives inside and outside of Liberal Arts. Her responsibilities in engagement will be to work with departments, faculty and students to conceive and implement a focused engagement strategy for the college. The appointment was effective Aug. 14.

— Mara H. Wasburn, an associate professor of organizational leadership in the College of Technology, has been appointed to the advisory board of the CalWomenTech Project. The purpose of the project is to increase the number of women in science, technology, engineering and math. The project is sponsored by the Institute for Women in Technology, Trades and Science based in Los Angeles and is underwritten by a $2 million National Science Foundation grant. Wasburn was also recently elected to a five-year board position as program chair for the Women in Engineering division of the American Society for Engineering Education.

— Ernest R. Blatchley III, a professor of environmental engineering in the School of Civil Engineering, has been named a board-certified environmental engineer by the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. To receive the designation, Blatchley met the standard prerequisites for specialty certification and passed written and oral examinations and reviews by an admission panel.

— Ronald Andres, professor emeritus of chemical engineering, has received the 2006 American Institute of Chemical Engineers Nanoscale Science & Engineering Forum Award. The award was given for the first time last year, and Andres is the first academic professional to receive it. He received the honor "for leadership and pioneering innovation in the production, utilization and fundamental understanding of the mechanical, electronic and magnetic properties of nanoparticles and nanoparticle arrays."

— Venkat Venkatasubramanian, professor of chemical engineering, is the 2006 winner of the Norris Shreve Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching in Chemical Engineering. He also received the award in 1993 and 2004.

— Nine faculty members from the College of Technology were recognized by Provost Sally Mason at the annual Seeds of Success awards luncheon held Sept. 8. Seeds of Success, which is sponsored by the vice president for research, awards faculty each year from across the university who are principal investigators or co-principal investigators of large multidisciplinary awards. The following College of Technology faculty members were honored: Melissa Dark, computer and information technology; R. Mark French, mechanical engineering technology; Michael Kane, computer and information technology; Mileta Tomovic, mechanical engineering technology; Bradley Harriger, mechanical engineering technology; Nathan Hartman, computer graphics technology; Craig Miller, computer graphics technology; Lisa Ncube, organizational leadership and supervision; and Cynthia Tomovic, organizational leadership and supervision.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096; purduenews@purdue.edu


To the News Service home page

Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive