Purdue Today

December 7, 2007

Nominations sought for MLK 'Dreamer' award

Nominations still are being accepted for the 2008 Purdue University Dreamer Award, said Alysa Christmas Rollock, vice president for human relations.

The Dreamer Award is presented annually to an individual or organization within the Purdue University community whose contributions embody Martin Luther King, Jr.'s vision of service to others and further the university's commitment to diversity.

The 2008 Dreamer Award will be presented during the Martin Luther King, Jr. University Celebration at 7 p.m. Jan. 21 in Loeb Playhouse.  Nominations of alumni and retirees will also be considered. 

Past recipients include Dr. Sally Mason, Dr. Mark J. Smith, Dr. Klod Kokini, Ms. Renee Thomas, Ms. Ashley Hornberger, Ms. Jane Cassidy, Mr. Kenneth Field, and Ms. Elaine McVay.

To submit a nomination for the 2008 Dreamer Award, contact Barbara Devine, Office of the Vice President for Human Relations, (765) 494-5830, 241 Hovde Hall, by Dec. 14.