Purdue Today

February 28, 2008

Teaching Academy inducts nine new members

Interim Provost Vic Lechtenberg congratulates Venkat Venkatasubrama, professor of chemical engineering, on being named a fellow of the Purdue Teaching Academy.
Purdue's Teaching Academy inducted six new fellows and three new associate fellows as well as recognized two members at a ceremony on Tuesday (Feb. 26).

For outstanding contributions to teaching and learning on the West Lafayette campus, the inductees were:

-- Four fellows by virtue of winning a Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award: Patricia Hart, professor of foreign languages and literatures; Christine Hrycyna, associate professor of chemistry; Richard Thomas, professor of visual and performing arts; and Karen Yehle, assistant professor of nursing.

-- Two other new fellows: John Contreni, the Justin S. Morrill Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and Venkat Venkatasubrama, professor of chemical engineering.

-- Three new associate fellows: Rebecca Bull, organizational behavior and human resource management; Gregory Gibson, sociology; and Kristina Walker, agronomy.

Robert May, professor of history, and Timothy Newby, professor of curriculum and instruction, were recognized for receiving the Murphy Award in 2007. May and Newby are already members of the Teaching Academy.

The Teaching Academy provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. The academy's executive council selects fellows and associates from nominees. Each year, every college and school can nominate faculty members as fellows and graduate students or continuing lecturers as associate fellows.