Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive
Purdue News

April 9, 2007

Purdue College of Science honors 10 distinguished alumni

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue University's College of Science honored 10 alumni during a luncheon reception on Friday (April 6) for their contributions and leadership within their professions.

The 2007 distinguished alumni award recipients are:

*  J. Trent Anderson of Wilmette, Ill., a partner at Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw, LLP. Anderson practices corporate and finance law and is president of the Indiana Society of Chicago and has served on the dean's leadership council. He has been a member of the adjunct faculty at Loyola University of Chicago's School of Law and has lectured at the Practicing Law Institute and at Illinois Continuing Legal Education seminars. Anderson earned a bachelor's degree in physics from Purdue in 1961. He earned a law degree from the University of Virginia School of Law in 1964.

*  Teresa S. Bowers of Boston, owner of Gradient Corp. Bowers is a member of the advisory council for the National Institute of Environmental Health and Safety and was a Crosby Lecturer in Resource Geology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She has worked with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's integrated exposure uptake biokinetic model for lead and developed a model for establishing cleanup levels for lead at industrial and commercial sites. Bowers earned a bachelor's degree in mathematics and geology from Purdue in 1977. She earned a doctorate from the University of California at Berkeley.

* Nancy W. Brickhouse of Newark, Del., interim director of the School of Education and professor of science education at the University of Delaware. Brickhouse is a member of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching and the American Educational Research Association and served as editor of the journal Science Education. Brickhouse earned a master's degree in chemistry in 1986 and a doctorate in science education in 1988, both from Purdue.

* Bernard J. Bulkin of London, chairman of AEA Technology and a professorial fellow at Cambridge University. Bulkin is a member of the UK Sustainable Development Commission and holds government advisory roles. Bulkin is a winner of the Coblentz Award, the Society of Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal and the Oscar Foster Award in Science Education. He served as chief scientist for BP and developed BP's climate change and clean fuels positions. Bulkin earned a doctorate in chemistry from Purdue in 1966.

* Daniel M. Fleetwood of Brentwood, Tenn., chair of the electrical engineering and computer science department and professor of electrical engineering and physics at Vanderbilt University. Discover magazine recognized Fleetwood with the invention of the year in computer hardware and electronics in 1998 for co-inventing a computer memory chip based on mobile protons. In 2000 he was named one of the top 250 most highly cited researchers in engineering by the Institute for Scientific Information. Fleetwood earned a bachelor's degree with honors in physics and applied mathematics in 1980, a master's degree in physics in 1981, and a doctorate in physics in 1984, all from Purdue.

* Moira A. Gunn of San Francisco, founder and host of National Public Radio's "Tech Nation" and "BioTech Nation." Gunn served at the NASA Institute for Advanced Computation and holds a patent for a nutritional measurement system. Her book "Welcome to BioTech Nation: My Unexpected Odyssey into the Land of Small Molecules, Lean Genes, and Big Ideas" will be published in June. She was the first woman to earn a doctorate in mechanical engineering from Purdue and is a board member emeritus of the Tech Museum of Innovation. Gunn earned a master's degree in computer science in 1972 and a doctorate in mechanical engineering in 1974, both from Purdue.

* Wen-Jang Huang of Kaohsiung, Taiwan, director of the Institute of Statistics at the National University of Kaohsiung. Huang served as vice president of the National University of Kaohsiung and was the founding dean of the College of Science, founding director of the institute of statistics and founding chairman of the Department of Applied Mathematics. He has received the outstanding research award from the National Science Council in Taiwan and served as president of the Chinese Institute of Probability and Statistics. Huang received the contribution award from the Chinese Institute of Probability and Statistics in 2005. Huang earned a doctorate in statistics from Purdue in 1983.

* Barbara A. Kile of Alexandria, Va., who served as division director of strategic and information programs for the program analysis and evaluation office of the Secretary of Defense. Kile also served as section chief of the Soviet/Warsaw Pact Aerospace Forces for the Defense Intelligence Agency and as an assistant professor of mathematics at Hampton University. Kile earned a bachelor's degree in mathematics from Purdue in 1963. She earned a master's degree in mathematics from the University of Illinois in 1964, a bachelor's degree in mathematics from Carnegie Mellon University in 1974 and a master's degree in national security studies from Georgetown University in 1985.

* William C. Nylin Jr. of Beaumont, Texas, executive vice chairman and chief operating officer of Conn's Inc. Nylin serves on the board of the Texas State University System Foundation and is vice president of the chancellor's council of the Texas State University system. Prior to his current position, he served as the deputy chancellor of the Lamar University system and was the first director of the academic computer science program. Nylin earned a master's degree in computer science in 1968 and a doctorate in computer science in 1972, both from Purdue.

* Belinda P. Seto of Bethesda, Md., deputy director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering. Seto represents the institute in the White House initiatives on manufacturing committee and has served as deputy director of the office of extramural research for the office of the director of the National Institutes of Health. Seto is a member of the U.S.-China Roundtable on Data Sharing and conducted virology research for the Food and Drug Administration for 10 years. She has received the Department of Human Health and Services Secretary's Award for Exceptional Achievement, the NIH director's award and is listed in the American Men and Women of Science. Seto earned a doctorate in biochemistry from Purdue in 1974.

Writer: Elizabeth Gardner, (765) 494-2081,

Source: Mary Jo Bartolacci, director of advancement for the College of Science, (765) 496-3525,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

Note to Journalists: Complete biographies and publication-quality photos of the recipients will be available on the 2007 Distinguished Science Alumni page at

To the News Service home page

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue News Service at