Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive
Purdue News

June 29, 2007

Purdue Notebook

Appointments and promotions:

— The College of Liberal Arts has promoted Joan Marshall from associate dean to senior associate dean for administration and Barbara Dixon from assistant dean for undergraduate administration to associate dean for administration. Marshall is responsible for the faculty development centers as well as human resource issues, College of Liberal Arts senate committees, and affirmative action and diversity initiatives. Dixon is responsible for assessment, scholarships and communication. The appointments are effective July 1.

— Patrice Rankine, associate professor of classics, has been named the assistant head in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures in the College of Liberal Arts.

— The College of Science has appointed Nick Giordano head of the Department of Physics. He succeeds Andrew Hirsch, who has served as head for the last 10 years. Giordano, the Hubert James Distinguished Professor of Physics, joined the faculty in 1979 and has served as an assistant dean and interim associate dean of the college. The appointment is effective July 2.

— The College of Science has appointed Aditya Mathur as head of the Department of Computer Science. He succeeds Susanne Hambrusch, who has served as head since 2002. Mathur joined the faculty in 1987 and currently serves as associate dean of graduate education and international studies for the College of Science. The appointment is effective July 2.

— The College of Science has appointed Rodrigo Banuelos head of the Department of Mathematics. He succeeds Leonard Lipshitz, who has served as head since 2002 and was head from 1992-97. Banuelos joined the faculty in 1986. The appointment is effective July 2.

— Mike Atallah has been appointed associate head of the Department of Computer Science.

— The College of Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences has appointed Val Watts as associate dean for research and Eric Barker as assistant dean for graduate programs. Barker and Watts succeed Marc Loudon, who served as senior associate dean for research and graduate programs. After a sabbatical leave, Loudon will return to his duties as a faculty member in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology. Watts will provide leadership for the research programs of the college, and Barker will oversee and coordinate the graduate programs of the college. Both will retain their positions in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology. Both appointments are effective July 15.

— The College of Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences has appointed Gary Carlson as acting head of the School of Health Sciences while George Sandison, head of the school and associate dean in the college, is on sabbatical leave. Carlson will retain his position as professor of toxicology and chairperson of the Purdue Animal Care and Use Committee. The appointment is effective July 1 and will end June 30, 2008.

— The College of Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences has appointed Steven Abel as assistant dean for clinical programs in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Abel will lead the clinical programs within the school and will share with the director of the health care technical assistance program oversight of the newly developed Purdue Pharmacy Technical Assistance Program. In addition, the experiential learning program for the doctor of pharmacy program, the Purdue Pharmacy and the continuing education program of the school will report to the assistant dean for clinical programs beginning the date of his appointment. Abel will continue his appointment as Bucke Professor and head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. The appointment is effective July 2.

— Kenneth Morris, associate head of the Department of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy and director of graduate programs, was appointed chair of the Food and Drug Administration's advisory committee for pharmaceutical sciences. Morris joined the committee as an expert of pharmaceutical material science in August 2004. The committee advises the director of the Office of Pharmaceutical Sciences on scientific and technical issues related to formulation and manufacturing of drug products. This includes prescription drugs, both branded and generic, as well as other products under the regulatory responsibility of the FDA.

— Candiss Vibbert, executive assistant to Purdue President Martin C. Jischke since 2000, has been named to the dual role of associate vice provost for engagement at Purdue and associate director for engagement in Discovery Park. Vibbert will assume her new duties July 1. As executive assistant to the president, Vibbert served as the office's liaison and adviser to Discovery Park among other duties. Before her appointment to the Office of the President, she was an associate dean in the Graduate School at Purdue. Vibbert has a doctorate degree in communication from the University of Iowa.

Faculty and staff honors:

— Steve Thompson, director of the Pet Wellness Clinic in the School of Veterinary Medicine, received the 2007 Veterinary Pubic Relations Award from the Indiana Veterinary Medical Association. Thompson, who is the only board-certified canine feline medicine specialist in Lafayette, promotes the veterinary profession to youth in school groups and through various media, including local newscasts, newspapers, magazines and radio talk shows. His primary interest is in companion animal wellness, including pediatrics, and awareness of behavior development as it relates to establishing and maintaining the human-animal bond.

— Judy Chen, assistant professor of pharmacy practice; Mark French, assistant professor of mechanical engineering technology; Guy Lebanon, assistant professor of statistics; Maren Linett, assistant professor of English; Cristina Nita-Rotaru, assistant professor of computer science; Jennifer C. Richardson, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Alejandro Strachan, assistant professor of materials engineering; George E. Van Scoyoc, professor of agronomy; and Susan Watts, an associate professor of management, are 2007 recipients of the Purdue Teaching for Tomorrow Award. Faculty members are nominated for the university-wide award because of their dedication to teaching and mentoring. The Purdue Teaching for Tomorrow Award is given to seven junior faculty members and three senior faculty members. The junior faculty members are teamed with the senior faculty members to help enhance their teaching techniques. The award assists faculty to continually develop teaching skills that will enhance student learning and was established through resources provided by the classes of 1944 and 1945. The recipients receive a $1,000 faculty development award for their involvement with the Teaching for Tomorrow program.

— Mike Atallah and Gustavo Rodriguez-Rivera, both professors in the Department of Computer Science, have been named in the Top 10 Outstanding Teachers in the College of Science. Sophomore, junior and senior students in the college select the teachers to be honored.

Student honors:

— Lee Cambrea, a graduate student in the Department of Chemistry, is a winner of the Biophysical Society 2007 student research achievement award. Cambrea was recognized for her work in membrane biophysics.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

To the News Service home page

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue News Service at