Newsroom Search Newsroom home Newsroom Archive
Purdue News

June 27, 2008

Appointments, honors and activities

• Faculty and staff honors:

—    Carol Birk, Purdue PharmaTAP director, has been named executive director of the Indianapolis Coalition for Patient Safety. In addition to her duties at Purdue, Birk will be responsible for the administration and overall direction of the coalition. Founded in 2003, the coalition provides a forum for Indianapolis-area hospitals to share information about "best practices" and work together to resolve patient safety issues.

— Several Purdue staff members in the Department of Agricultural Communications won awards from the Association for Communication Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Life and Human Sciences. The awards were given during the association's annual conference held in June. Earning a gold award for Media Relations Campaigns was Beth Forbes, Russ Merzdorf, Douglas Main, Dan Annarino, Chris Sigurdson, and Tom Campbell for the World Food Prize campaign. Earning a gold for editing was Kevin Leigh Smith for the publication "Management-Intensive Grazing in Indiana." The silver award in writing went to Campbell for a story titled Crucial Conversations, which was an interview with World Food Prize winner and Purdue faculty member Phil Nelson. Receiving a silver award for a direct mail piece called the Preveterinary Medicine brochure were Becky Goetz and Annarino and Jane Alexander from the Office of Academic Programs in the College of Agriculture. The bronze in the direct mail category went to the team of Jane Wolf Brown, Annarino, Forbes, Sigurdson and Main for the Making the News postcard. Agriculture Magazine received a bronze for magazines and periodicals, and winners were Olivia Maddox, Merzdorf, Main, Laura Hoelscher, Julie Douglas, Campbell, Jennifer Cummins and Forbes. A bronze was awarded for the technical publication Winter Annual Weeds and Soybean Cyst Nematode Management. Team members are Annarino and Smith from Agricultural Communication; plus Valerie A. Mock, J. Earl Creech, Bill Johnson and Andreas Westphal from Botany and Plant Pathology; and Jamal Faghihi and Virginia R. Ferris from Entomology. The Pioneer Award, which honors a communicator in each of four regions, went to Smith for the North-Central district, who was recognized for exceptional leadership and technical skills and making significant contributions to ACE early in his career.

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

To the News Service home page

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue News Service at