* Purdue University Provost Home Page

August 12, 2008

49 professors to be inducted into Purdue's 'Book of Great Teachers'

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The names of 49 Purdue University professors will be added to the Book of Great Teachers, which honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom.

The Aug. 28 induction, which occurs once every five years, will take place from 3:30-5:30 p.m. in the North Ballroom of the Purdue Memorial Union. Purdue President France A. Córdova and Provost Randy Woodson will recognize the honorees.

To be included in the Book of Great Teachers, professors and former professors must have served on the Purdue faculty at least 10 years. Honorees include past recipients of universitywide teaching excellence awards and those nominated by students, alumni and colleagues.

"These professors are passionate about teaching and are making a difference in the lives of students both inside and outside the classroom," Woodson said. "This honor reflects our commitment to excellence in teaching and the faculty that embody this every day."

The book, a bronze and walnut wall display in the west foyer of the union, was first unveiled in 1999 with 225 current and former faculty honorees. The last ceremony was held in 2003, when 42 faculty members were added to the book.

Professors being honored from each college/school include:

Agriculture: Ronald Coolbaugh, Christian Y. Oseto, Paul C. Pecknold and Harmon P. Weeks Jr.

Agriculture and Engineering: Bernard Y. Tao.

Consumer and Family Services: Joseph M. La Lopa, John Rousselle and Douglas Sprenkle.

Education: Marilyn A. Hirth and Timothy J. Newby.

Education and Science: Mary B. Nakhleh.

Engineering: Steven H. Collicott, Supriyo Datta, Leslie Geddes, Eckhard A. Groll, James M. Longuski, William C. Oakes and Robert F. Pierret.

Liberal Arts: Victor Lincoln Albjerg (posthumously), Emily L. Allen, Becky A. Brown, Rosalee A. Clawson, Nancy Gabin, Patricia Hart, Janice Kelly, Robert E. May, William P. McLauchlan, Richard S. Rand, David Rollock, Richard K. Thomas, Irwin H. Weiser and Gordon D. Young.

Management: John Umbeck and Susan Watts.

Mathematical Sciences: Lowell W. Beineke (IPFW faculty member).

Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences: Pamela Aaltonen, Stanley L. Hem and Karen S. Yehle.

Science: Steven R. Bell, Greg N. Frederickson, Casper Goffman (posthumously), Jonathan M. Harbor and Stephen Konieczny.

Technology: Craig L. Miller, James L. Mohler, Dale Oderman and Donald A. Petrin.

Veterinary Medicine: Robert (Pete) L. Bill and John F. Van Vleet.

Writer: Clyde Hughes, (765) 494-2073,

Source: Randy Woodson,

Purdue News Service: (765) 494-2096;

To the News Service home page